BCCB Super League 2010 Final

BCCB Super League 2010
Rigsum CC vs. BTCL, 31st July 2010, Jigmethang

Rigsum the club Champions

Kencho Norbu slammed an unbeaten 105 runs to sail Rigsum CC to a 5 wicket win over BTCL in the finals of the BCCB super league cricket tournament yesterday at Jigmethang, Dechencholing.

Rigsum the Club Champions

Rigsum the Club Champions

It brought a hugely entertaining tournament to a fitting climax which was always likely. In a perfect cricket playing condition BTCL opted to bat first after winning the toss. Rigsum had made a whirlwind start, reducing BTCL to 30 for two wickets before opener Tandin and wicketkeeper batsman helped steady the ship. Thinley was caught at 24 that brought captain Phuntsho to the centre. Tandin looked in good touch; timing the ball well but unfortunately a mix up between the two batsmen send him run-out at 37 and it seemed all over for BTCL. Tenzin and Jigme added a valuable 40 runs to take the score to 158.

kencho 105 not-out

kencho 105 not-out

Rigsum made light work of the 159 target they were set to win the match when Kencho Norbu and Manoj Ahdikari added 61 runs opening partnership before Manoj was trapped leg before wicket (LBW) by off-spinner Phuntsho. Phuntsho picked up two quick wickets to hold back Rigsum. It was a situation where by the match could have gone either way. But it was kencho who steered the match with some powerful drives, by the time Rigsum required only 7 runs to win. Kencho on the other hand was hanging at 99 when he flicked the ball to the leg side to steal two runs to complete his maiden century. “It’s a great satisfaction to score your first 100 and that too in a final, I’m proud that I could win the match for my team,” said Kencho. Kencho was awarded the man of the match for his unbeaten 105. The best bowler of the tournament went to Bikash Gurung of Rigsum while Bhutan Telecom Jigme Singye bagged the best batsman of the tournament. BTCL Phuntsho Wangdi was named the player of the tournament. Bhutan Telecom was also awarded with the Spirit of Cricket trophy. The winners took home Nu 40,000 while runners-up took 25,000. The tournament was sponsored by Druk Air.

Teams, officials with Chief Guest Ugyen Tenzin

Teams, officials with Chief Guest Ugyen Tenzin

Match Summary

Toss won by BTCL and opted to bat
BTCL scored 158 runs  all-out in 36.5overs
Rigsum scored 161 runs for 5 wickets in 34.3 overs
Rigsum won by 6 wickets
Man of the match: Kencho Norbu

Match Officials

Umpires: Dorji & Chencho
Scorers: Deki & Dechen
Match Referee: Sampath

5 Responses to “BCCB Super League 2010 Final”
  1. Nice one… well done ..

  2. Andrea says:

    Thanks for involving foreigners 😉

  3. D.S. Gurung says:

    Everyone should know about cricket happening in Bhutan

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

  • Copyright© Damber S Gurung 2011. All rights reserved
  • Post Box # 1313, Thimphu, Bhutan Phone: +975-2-333186
%d bloggers like this: