BCCB Twenty20 Championship 2011, Thimphu

Dot Com "Champion"

Champion Dot Com


Dot Com wins BCCB T20 Championship 2011

Dot Com is the only side with a 100 percent record after winning the final of BCCB Twenty20 Championship. On a tough pitch to score runs the BTCL guys won the toss, and batted first. As their captain Phuntsho Wangdi later said, “It’s difficult to chase runs on this pitch so we knew if we batted first and put up 120 runs, we would have a great chance of winning.” The BTCL team did not quite manage that total but got to 60, a score that was too easy to chase by Dot Com batsmen.

With Chief Guest Secretary General BOC

With Chief Guest Secretary General BOC

BTCL’s Tandin Wangchuk was only batsman to score double figures of 17 runs in 17 balls. However once again Thimphu’s most well-known cricketer Captain Phuntsho Wangdi was called upon to do his heroics but failed to do so when he was run out by Thinley Tenzin. Afterward BTCL hopes went on Ugyen Dorji, match winner in Semi final against Bhutan Telecom but he was caught at silly mid-off by Dechen in Susil’s bowl.

BTCL managed 60 runs in 13.2 overs. It was Lobzang opening fast bowler and Susil Sharma off-spinner who did it for Dot Com by collecting 3 wickets each. Captain Jigme Singye and Nima Sherpa picked 2 wickets each. In reply, Dot Com took 14 overs to reach their target for the loss of four wickets. Subash remained not out at 21 and Dechen scored 10 runs.

BTCL Captain Phuntsho Wangdi was the pick of the bowlers with two wickets. The Man of the Match was awarded to Lobzang Yonten. Dot Com was awarded winning amount of Nu 30,000; while runners-up BTCL took Nu20,000. Dot Com Captain Jigme Singye won the Player of the Tournament award and a cash prize of Nu. 3000; while teammate Susil Sharma bagged the Best Batsman of the tournament award and cash prize Nu.1,000. Rigsum’s Sampath was awarded Best Bowler of the tournament and cash prize Nu.1,000.

Best Batsman Susil Sharma

Best Batsman Susil Sharma

Best Bowler Sampath

Best Bowler Sampath

Player of the Tournament Jigme Singye

Player of the Tournament Jigme Singye

BTCL won the toss and opted to bat first BTCL scored 60 runs in 13.2 overs
Dot Com scored 61 runs in 14 overs for the loss of 4 wickets
Dot Com won by 6 wickets

Umpires: Dorji Loday and Sampath
Scorer: Manoj Adhikari Match
Referee: Chencho Dorji


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

  • Copyright© Damber S Gurung 2011. All rights reserved
  • Post Box # 1313, Thimphu, Bhutan Phone: +975-2-333186
%d bloggers like this: