SAARC T20 Championship 2011

The official draw of the SAARC Twenty20 Cup was held last night in Male’ in a glittering ceremony attended by His Excellency President Mohamed Nasheed, senior Government officials, officials of foreign missions in Maldives, Cricket Board officials, players and other stakeholders. Speaking at the ceremony President Mohamed Nasheed said that the SAARC Under 25 Cricket Tournament to be held in Fuvahmulah Maldives, would showcase the brightest young talents of South Asian cricket and commended the hard work of the Cricket Board of Maldives, Ministry of Youth and Sports, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the SAARC Taskforce and other contributing parties to make the event a success.

President Nasheed

President Nasheed

Hosts Maldives was drawn together with Bhutan, Afghanistan and Bangladesh in Group A. Group B comprises of Sri Lanka, Nepal, India and Pakistan. Afghanistan, Bhutan, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka has nominated their U25 teams for the tournament. Maldives will be represented by their U25 team as well.

Maldives Cricket revealed that a team from Karnataka Institute of Cricket has been invited by the Maldives Foreign Ministry to represent India. A board official told that the BCCI was unable to send an U25 team to the tournament due to other commitments. However, as it is a SAARC Summit sideline event, the Maldives government wanted all SAARC member states to be represented in the tournament in some capacity. Maldives Cricket also revealed that Bangladesh Cricket Board had a similar problem due to tour commitments by their national side and A team and the ongoing first class cricket. As such the Maldives government is trying to find a representative team from Bangladesh for the tournament.

Group 1                                                       Group 2
Maldives                                                       Sri Lanka
Bhutan                                                           Nepal
Afghanistan                                                 India
Bangladesh                                                  Pakistan

Tentative Schedule
31 Oct Maldives vs Bhutan / Sri Lanka vs Nepal
1 Nov Afghanistan vs Bangladesh / India (KIC) vs Pakistan
2 Nov Sri Lanka vs India / Maldives vs Afghanistan
3 Nov Nepal vs Pakistan / Bhutan vs Bangladesh
4 Nov Maldives vs Bangladesh / Sri Lanka vs Pakistan
5 Nov Bhutan vs Afghanistan / Nepal vs India
6 Nov Group 1 winners vs Group 2 Runners-up / Group 2 winners vs Group 1 Runners-up

Courtesy: Maldives Cricket

4 Responses to “SAARC T20 Championship 2011”
  1. zarifullah says:

    Afghanistan can win this tournamint beacous afghanistan has good players like hamid hasan/najib tarki/gulbudin naib

  2. bikash says:

    best of luck nepal

  3. news blog says:

    thanks for share the news

  4. Thank you so much for the post, just loved it , have a visit on my Cricket Forum also. You are amazing man,just amazing,bookmarked your site.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

  • Copyright© Damber S Gurung 2011. All rights reserved
  • Post Box # 1313, Thimphu, Bhutan Phone: +975-2-333186
%d bloggers like this: